Scribbler 024: METRIK

57 mins Viper
Download MP3 Download M4A

An outstanding producer from the Viper Recordings camp, whose tracks have been tearing up the dancefloors and escalating him to being amongst the very best producers in drum’n’bass. Here Metrik treats us to a mix full of the latest dubs, all packed to the brim with rhythmic synths and thudding basslines, which deliver with monstrous effect.


  1. Deception - Noisia [RAM]
  2. Crackdown (ShockOne remix) - Brookes Brothers [Viper]
  3. Strobe - Sub Focus [RAM]
  4. Chronic VIP - ShockOne [Viper]
  5. Halo - DC Breaks [Viper]
  6. Hopelessly Addicted - Hamilton [Frequency]
  7. Sound Of Time - Chook [Full Force]
  8. The Big Rush - Camo & Krooked Vs. Body & Soul [Nasca]
  9. Strange Science - Phace[Shogun]
  10. Galaxy - Delta Heavy [Viper]
  11. Terra - Camo & Krooked [Mainframe]
  12. >>> Dawn Treader - Futurebound Vs. Brookes Brothers [Breakbeat Kaos]
  13. Anthem 2009 - Metrik [Viper]
  14. Follow The Light - Sub Focus [RAM]
  15. Xpander (Metrik Remix) - Sasha [Decon]
  16. Abort - Delta Heavy [Viper]
  17. Zero Gravity (Funky Funky Music VIP) - Metrik [Viper]
  18. Aint No Stoppin - Metrik [Dub]
  19. Twerk (Sub Focus Remix) - Basement Jaxx [XL]
  20. Skyline - Camo & Krooked [Beta]
  21. Stars Get Down - Subwave [Hospital]
  22. When The Time Comes - John B [Beta]
  23. The Race - Break [Commercial Suicide]
  24. Tonic - Futurebound Vs. ShockOne [Viper]
  25. Forward Approach - Metrik [Viper]
  26. Sunset - Metrik [Viper]
  27. Mankind VIP - DC Breaks [Viper]

Additional episode details

Metrik has already come a long way as one of the new names to look out for in drum & bass. In 2006, Tom's debut release appeared on the boundary-pushing drum & bass label, Collective. By 2007 he had released the anthemic soulful refrain of “Your World” on Intrinsic Recordings. It was to become arguably one of the biggest tracks of the year.

With admirers across the whole of the drum & bass spectrum and having been contacted by Futurebound, Metrik became an esteemed member of the Viper Recordings family. In 2008 Metrik released his first single on Viper, the epic “Moving On/Stranger” which was to become his second single to reach number one in the download charts.

The end of that year saw Metrik unleash the huge “Technicolour” which received major radio support from the likes of Zane Lowe, Hugh Stephens, Annie Mac and Colin Murray as well as all of the heavyweight drum & bass DJs. This culminated in BBC Radio 1's poignant use of the track as a sound bed on their coverage of Barrack Obama's victory speech on Colin Murray's show to breathtaking effect.

Metrik's rise behind the decks has seen him travel further afield, headlining parties across the UK. With a string of new releases lined up and with his first solo EP in the works, Metrik's name will soon become indelibly etched across the face of contemporary electronic music.